Ski resort customer relationship

Ski resorts: Improve your customer relationship management with CDM !

Improve your customer relationship management with the CDM

The current health crisis has particularly affected the leisure industry. This is why it has never been so important for ski resorts to improve their relationship with their customers and thus build loyalty. Offering differentiated approaches for each type of visitor, by offering them personalized experiences are vectors of satisfaction and loyalty. Ski resorts collect huge amounts of data, yet it is difficult for them to extract relevant information from it. What if the democratization of CDM was a solution of choice for optimizing the marketing of ski resorts?

What are the difficulties in improving customer relations?

Ski resort customer relationship

Ski resorts are faced with major concerns about visitor loyalty. Indeed, the Val Thorens ski resort confides that, if nothing is done, 80% of First Timers risk becoming One Timers. To improve customer relations, it is essential to know the so-called "customer". But for ski resorts, a number of obstacles have to be overcome: 

- The data left by visitors during their stays are scattered in the databases of several actors: ski schools, shopkeepers, ski-lifts...

- These data are often poorly qualified due to the lack of a common policy for their management.

- Only a small proportion of visitors can be reached by the stations.

These points greatly limit the ski resorts' knowledge of visitors and prevent them from creating a highly personalized link with them.

What solutions can ski resorts put in place?

Ski customer relationship management

We observe initiatives within ski resorts that often lead to the creation of Customer Relationship Management tools. The CDM (Customer Relationship Management) allows to transform raw data into usable data on a single interface thanks to a connection to all data sources: partner management, ski pass data, accommodation, activities, access control.

- The mountain resort of Val Thorens has introduced a VT Pass privilege card. It allows it to centralize all visitor data via a single medium. In 2015, this resort won the prize for the best Customer Relationship Management site (CDM). 

- Also worth mentioning is the La Plagne ski resort. It has integrated a banking service into its ski pass, allowing the resort to centralise all its visitors' transactions, directly on the slopes or at the resort's shops.

What are the results of using a CDM for ski resorts?

ski CDM

The initiatives presented allow tracking data to be retrieved, linked to the GPS information of tourists, making it possible for marketing managers to create real maps of visitor activities. This data is also used to establish accurate visitor profiles. Thomas Saison, Marketing Director at La Plagne at Compagnie des Alpes, says in interview for Tourmag : " I can confirm that La Plagne is a top level ski resort. Our clients ski an average of 5 hours a day. This statistic goes against the grain of studies on the practice of the activity, as we don't see any erosion. Moreover, we can better qualify the profiles of our customers. The over-represented group in our resort is the 35-50 year olds. ».

This increased knowledge of visitor profiles allows the implementation of automated marketing actions to improve customer relations: 

  • establishment of rankings and listings of the best clients of the resorts. Thus, these customers can receive special attention from the station. For example, they will have access to exclusive activities and events.
  • recommending activities based on client visit history
  • sending personalized reminders
  • Sending emails and sms at key stages of the client's stay. They will receive a welcome message on arrival and a satisfaction surveyon departure.
 

The data collected may also allow :

  • to detect under-utilized facilities in order to send a communication encouraging visitors to visit them. This makes queues more fluid and contributes to a better skiing experience.
  • to establish dynamic pricing offers, e.g. by suggesting an early bird ticket.

Conclusion

Understanding visitor behavior is essential to delivering unique customer experiences and building loyalty. Big Data technologies coupled with the use of a CDM offer ski resorts unlimited possibilities for improving their customer relations. It is therefore in the interest of ski resorts to develop their digital devices to understand their visitors and establish an ultra-personalized link with them. The Arenametrix experts We are available to help you do this.

Visual Solene crop

Solène Jimenez

Would you like to carry out a data & CDM diagnosis of your organisation? Take advantage of 30 minutes of free consulting by reserving your time.

Sophia Baladi

Sophia Baladi

Would you like to carry out a data & CDM diagnosis of your organisation? Take advantage of 30 minutes of free consulting by reserving your time.

Share this article with your friends!

Share on facebook

/

Share on twitter

/

Share on linkedin

Read more on our data & entertainment blog:

/

Tags:
No Comments

Post A Comment

Station de ski relation client

Stations de Ski : Améliorez votre gestion de la relation client grâce au CRM !

Améliorez votre gestion de la relation client grâce au crm

La crise sanitaire actuelle touche particulièrement les acteurs du monde des loisirs. C’est pourquoi il n’a jamais été aussi important pour les stations de ski d’améliorer la relation avec leurs clients et ainsi de les fidéliser. Proposer des approches différenciées pour chaque type de visiteur, en leur offrant des expériences personnalisées est un vecteur de satisfaction et de fidélisation. Les stations de ski captent d’énormes quantités de données, pourtant, il leur est difficile d’en tirer des informations pertinentes. Et si la démocratisation du CRM était une solution de choix pour l’optimisation du marketing des stations de ski ?

Quelles difficultés pour l’amélioration de la relation client ?

Station de ski relation client

Les stations de ski sont confrontées à d’importants soucis de fidélisation des visiteurs. En effet, la station de ski Val Thorens confie que, si rien n’est fait, 80 % des First Timer risquent de devenir des One Timer  (80% des nouveaux visiteurs ne vont pas revenir une prochaine fois). Pour améliorer la relation client, il est essentiel de connaître le dit « client ». Or pour les stations de ski, un certain nombre d’obstacles est à surmonter : 

  • Les données que laissent les visiteurs durant leurs séjours sont éparpillées dans les bases de données de plusieurs acteurs : écoles de ski, commerçants, remontées mécaniques…
  • Ces données sont souvent mal qualifiées du fait de l’absence de politique commune de gestion de celles-ci. 
  • Seule une faible part des visiteurs peut être atteinte par les stations. 

Ces points limitent grandement la connaissance des visiteurs par les stations de ski et les empêchent de créer avec ces derniers un lien ultra-personnalisé.

Quelles solutions les stations de ski peuvent-elles mettre en place ?

Ski gestion relation clients

Nous observons au sein des stations de ski des initiatives qui débouchent souvent sur la création d’outils de Gestion de la Relation Client. Le CRM (Customer Relationship Management) permet de transformer les données brutes en données exploitables sur une interface unique grâce à une connexion à l’ensemble des sources de données : gestion partenaires, données forfaits, hébergement, activités, contrôle d’accès. 

  • La station de montagne Val Thorens a instauré une carte privilège VT Pass. Elle lui permet de centraliser l’ensemble des données des visiteurs via un seul support. Cette station a remporté en 2015 le prix du meilleur site Customer Relationship Management (CRM), en français « GRC » (Gestion de la Relation Client).
  • Citons également la station de ski La Plagne. Elle a intégré à son forfait de ski un service bancaire, ce qui permet à la station de centraliser l’ensemble des transactions de ses visiteurs, directement au niveau des pistes ou chez les commerçants de la station.

Quels résultats apporte l'utilisation d'un CRM pour les stations de ski ?

ski crm

Les initiatives présentées permettent de récupérer des données de tracking, liées aux informations GPS des touristes, rendant possible la création de véritables cartographies des activités des visiteurs par les responsables marketing. Ces données sont également utilisées pour établir des profils précis des visiteurs. Thomas Saison, directeur marketing à La Plagne chez Compagnie des Alpes, indique ainsi en interview pour Tourmag : « Je peux vous confirmer que la Plagne est une station de grand niveau de ski. Nos clients skient en moyenne 5 heures par jour. Cette statistique est à contre-courant des études sur la pratique de l’activité, car nous ne constatons aucune érosion. De plus, nous pouvons mieux qualifier les profils des clients. La tranche sur-représentée dans notre station est celle des 35-50 ans. ».

Cette connaissance accrue des profils des visiteurs permet de mettre en place des actions marketing automatisées pour améliorer la relation client : 

  • Création de classements et listings des meilleurs clients des stations. Ainsi, ces clients peuvent recevoir une attention toute particulière de la part de la station. Ils auront accès par exemple à des activités et événements exclusifs.
  • recommandation d’activités en fonction des antécédents de visite des clients
  • envoi de relances personnalisées
  • envoi d’emails et sms aux étapes clés du séjour du client. Ils recevront à leur arrivée un message de bienvenue, pendant leur séjour des suggestions d’activités et à leur départ une enquête de satisfaction.
 

Les données récoltées peuvent également permettre :

  • de détecter les installations sous-utilisées afin d’envoyer une communication incitant les visiteurs à se rendre sur ces dernières. Ceci fluidifie les files d’attente et contribue à une meilleure expérience de ski.
  • d’établir des offres de tarification dynamique, par exemple via la suggestion de ticket early bird.

Conclusion

La compréhension des comportements des visiteurs est essentielle pour proposer des expériences clients uniques afin de les fidéliser. Les technologies du Big Data couplées à l’utilisation d’un CRM offrent aux stations de ski des possibilités illimitées pour l’amélioration de leur relation client. Ainsi, les stations de ski ont tout intérêt à développer leurs dispositifs digitaux pour comprendre leurs visiteurs et établir avec ces derniers un lien ultra-personnalisé. Les experts Arenametrix sont disponibles pour vous y aider.

Visuel Solene crop

Solène Jimenez

Vous souhaitez réaliser le diagnostic data & CRM de votre organisation ? Profitez de 30 minutes de conseil offertes en réservant votre créneau.

Sophia Baladi

Sophia Baladi

Vous souhaitez réaliser le diagnostic data & CRM de votre organisation ? Profitez de 30 minutes de conseil offertes en réservant votre créneau.

Partagez cet article avec vos amis !

Share on facebook

/

Share on twitter

/

Share on linkedin

Pour aller plus loin sur notre blog data & divertissement :

/

Tags:
No Comments

Post A Comment